Call for entries for sustainable tourism awards

WTTC calls for businesses to share their best practices
The World Travel & Tourism Council has opened the call for entries for its Tourism for Tomorrow Awards 2016. It is calling for travel and tourism businesses to “showcase their sustainability best practices”.
The WTTC, a global authority on the economic and social contribution of travel and tourism, says that applicants can enter in five categories: Community; Destination; Environment; Innovation; and People. The closing date for entries is November 16. The finalists will be announced in January and the winners revealed at the WTTC Global Summit 2016 in Dallas on April 6-7, 2016.
The 2015 award winners were Reality Tours & Travel, India (Community Award), Ljubljana, Slovenia (Destination Award), Soneva Group, Thailand & Maldives (Environment Award), ILUNION Hotels (previously Confortel Hoteles), Spain (People Award), and TripAdvisor GreenLeaders, USA (Innovation Award).
“Tourism is a force for good as it brings together people and cultures from all over the world, creating greater insight and understanding,” said Fiona Jeffery, former chairman of the World Travel Market and founder and chairman of water aid charity Just a Drop who will be chairing the awards for the second time. “However, if we do not focus on preserving our natural environment, look after our cultural heritage and ensure equal opportunity to local communities, our industry can do a lot of damage.”
She added: “We are calling on all individuals and businesses to apply for this prestigious Award scheme and show the wider industry how tourism businesses can add real value through their effective business practises. It is by sharing we can help overcome our industry’s challenges.”
Award applicants can submit an application online here.


Check Also

Nordica, Regional Jet, Sweden, route, Stockholm, Gällivare, Arvidsjauri, NextJet, tender

Nordica subsidiary to fly Swedish route

The Estonian company has been enlisted to provide flights between Stockholm and Lapland.

naked, protest, cruise, ships, fjords, social media, Instagram, photo, tourism, over-tourism

Norwegian, 71, in naked anti-cruise protest

A local resident has had enough of the ever-increasing number of large ships passing by his house.

WeChat Pay, KLM, Air France, Finnair, social media, airlines, Chinese, travellers, reach, marketing

How Europe’s airlines use WeChat to reach China

KLM, Finnair and Air France are among those maximising their presence among China’s outbound travellers.

easyJet, Finavia, Finland, Lapland, Rovaniemi, London, Gatwick, flights, family, Santa, Christmas, Arctic, husky, route

easyJet reveals new London-Lapland route

The British low-cost carrier aims to carry more than 13,000 customers in the first winter of operations.

Benefit Cosmetics, brand, cosmetics, ferry, Europe, Viking Line, cruise, USA, first

Viking Line offers new beauty exclusive

Finland’s Viking becomes the first cruise ship in Europe to offer the US brand Benefit Cosmetics.

CVB, convention bureau, congress, Europe, best, cities, Baltic, Vilnius, Zagreb, list, ranking, 2018, Kongres

Best “fresh” MICE cities in Europe ranked

Baltic cities do well in this ‘best meeting destinations of 2018’ roundup, although northern Europe is mostly ignored.