India opens e-visa – to some Nordic countries

On list of 43 countries are Norway and Finland

Travellers from 43 countries will now be able to apply online for visas to India through a dedicated portal unveiled by the government today. The list of countries includes Norway and Finland. accepts applications at least four days before and a maximum of 32 days from intended arrival date. Each visa is priced US$60 and is valid for 30 days with no extensions available. Travellers can obtain two e-visas per calendar year.

Nine international airports in the country – New Delhi, Mumbai, Chennai, Kolkata, Hyderabad, Bengaluru, Kochi, Trivandrum and Goa – have been equipped with the necessary systems and software to process e-visas.

Countries that will be able to use the e-visa system include Australia, Germany, Indonesia, Japan, Singapore, the US, the Philippines, Thailand and Vietnam, among others. China, a key focus market, has not been included but is expected to be added to the list in the second phase of roll-out, alongside other nations.

Foreign tourist arrivals in India between January and September 2014 numbered 5.2 million.

The Visa on Arrival Facility is available for holders of passports from: Australia, Brazil, Cambodia, Cook Islands, Djibouti, Fiji, Finland, Germany, Indonesia, Israel, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Kiribati, Laos, Luxembourg, Marshall Islands, Mauritius, Mexico, Micronesia, Myanmar, Nauru, New Zealand, Niue Island, Norway, Oman, Palau, Palestine, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Republic of Korea, Russia, Samoa, Singapore, Solomon Islands, Thailand, Tonga, Tuvalu, the UAE, Ukraine, the USA, Vanuatu and Vietnam.

TTG Asia

[photo courtesy India Tourism Bureau]

Leave a Reply