Whale watching areas to become “heritage sites”

Areas to engage with local communities and boost income
Whale watching is being given a new accreditation scheme to ensure tourists can have the least possible impact on the mammals.
The World Cetacean Alliance (WCA) will be granting Whale Heritage Site status to areas of the world considered to be centres of excellence and responsibility in taking care of and engaging with cetaceans.
The areas will demand the highest standards of responsible whale and dolphin watching. They will also engage with local communities. It is hoped the scheme will boost visitor numbers and income while enabling sustainable management of marine resources.
The scheme is being further backed with a Whale Heritage Sites Summit being held in October in the Azores, where delegates will agree on the final criteria for site designation. It is hoped the first site will then be chosen in 2016.
“The best possible way to protect ocean wildlife is to encourage people to see it for themselves in a responsible way,” WCA secretariat Dylan Walker said. “If, through Whale Heritage Sites, those same people can also experience coastal communities that celebrate and care for their marine natural heritage and understand the importance of a sustainable approach, we may yet win the battle to save our oceans.”
TTG Digital


Check Also

Widerøe slashes capacity to the far north

The regional airline says it will cut 44 weekly flights in Lofoten and Vesterålen, with more cuts likely.

Joon, air france, millennial, Oslo, flight, first, Nordic, destinations, Paris

Millennials visit Oslo on first Joon flight

Air France’s millennial-focused Joon adds its new-generation travel experience to Oslo Airport.

SJ, rail, train, Sweden, bookings, domestic, mountains, Are, travel, tourism, Easter

Booking pressure on Sweden’s Easter rail trips

Which Swedish rail destinations are seeing the biggest leaps in popularity this year?

Helsinki Marketing, MICE, Helsinki, meetings, congress, conferences, travel, Sustainable, multilingual

Helsinki congress visitors “ahead of Nordic rivals”

The Finnish capital attracted a record number of congress visitors last year.

OAG, Kaunas, Vilnius, Lithuania, technology, specialists, human resources, IT, air, travel, business, flights, Luton

Air links drive Lithuania’s high-tech growth

Air travel intelligence firm OAG will create a new development centre in the country’s second city Kaunas.

Air France, strike, unions, vote, Easter, March, 2018, cancel, flights, travel

Air France passengers face two strikes

Turbulence ahead as unions vote to stage strikes on both of the upcoming Fridays.