Whole Baltic region to have euro from 2015

Lithuania to join neighbours in euro area from January



Lithuania will be admitted to the euro area in 2015, joining its Baltic neighbours Latvia and Estonia, EU finance ministers have agreed. Lithuania has fulfilled all requirements for entry and proved it can adopt the euro as its currency, the ministers said. A final formal decision on the accession will be made in July.

Olli Rehn, vice-president of the European Commission in charge of economic and monetary affairs and the euro, stressed the fact that now the euro area will include the whole Baltic region.

“Lithuania’s acceptance will bring good news not only to Lithuanian citizens but to the euro area as well,” he said at a news conference.

According to the schedule, Lithuania will adopt the euro on January 1. Estonia adopted the European single currency in 2011, Latvia in 2014.


[photo courtesy European Commission]


Check Also

airBaltic, Baltic, airline, Latvia, Riga, atw, award, Norwegian, passengers, 2018, growth, load factor, punctuality

airBaltic: 23% growth, wins ‘airline leader’ award

The Latvian carrier sees record passenger numbers, though its load factor remains low.

Riga, port, airport, RIX, passengers 2017, Ryanair, airBaltic, cruise, ferry

Record passengers at Riga port and airport

Passenger numbers are on the rise at the Baltics’ biggest airport – and at Riga’s passenger port.

Small Planet Airlines, 100, flight, Palange, Vilnius, Lithuania, centenary, celebration, anniversary, Latvia, Estonia, Baltics

Why an airline ‘drew’ a giant 100 over Lithuania

A fast-growing leisure carrier helps Lithuania celebrate, as the Baltics mark their independence centenary this year.

Lux Express, Riga, Latvia, bus, travel, tourism, Baltic, capitals, cities, Tallinn, Riga, St Petersburg, Helsinki, Russia

Bus travel rivals air in the Baltics

Estonia's Lux Express sees a big growth in passengers and buys more buses.

Northern Europe tour operators merge

Via Hansa and Borealis become Via Hansa & Borealis.

airBaltic, Riga, Tallinn, Nordica, competition, airlines, Stockholm, Oslo, Copenhagen, flights, routes, Baltic, market, Nordic, Gatwick

airBaltic: 99% of transfer passengers on time

New “tail-to-tail initiative” escorts passengers in transit